How the names was chosen

Throsby School was selected by the community as the name for the new school.

At the request of the Minister for Education, the Directorate asked the Office of the Surveyor-General and Land Information and the Place Names Committee for options to name the school. The name options include eminent Australians (deceased) whose contribution is related to the suburb theme and include the names of women and the names of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Family members, former colleagues and organisations closely associated with these individuals were also consulted to obtain their support to have the name considered as one of the options for the new school.

The name options were:

  • Clifford Possum Tjapaltjarri School
  • John Calaby School
  • Shirley Jeffrey School
  • Throsby School

About Dr Charles Throsby (1777 - 1828)

Pictured is an image of a portrait style painting of an Australian man with red toned hair wearing a formal suit.

Dr Charles Throsby was a surgeon, settler, and explorer, born in England.

He joined the navy as a surgeon and served in the armed transports Coromandel and Calcutta from 1797 until the early 1800s. In June 1802 he arrived in New South Wales as naval surgeon of the Coromandel and was recognised for the good health of the convicts and settlers under his charge.

Dr Throsby was one of the first settlers in the Illawarra district and he was also one of the first to settle in the Moss Vale district. In August 1817 he explored the country west of Sutton Forest with Hamilton Hume, a family friend. In March and April 1818, he accompanied Surveyor-General James Meehan on a journey from the Cowpastures region through Moss Vale to Bundanoon Creek and south-east to Jervis Bay.

In 1819 Throsby discovered a pass between the Illawarra and Robertson districts and successfully drove a herd of cattle through it. In March 1820 he explored the country around Goulburn and Lake Bathurst and penetrated as far as the Breadalbane Plains.

In March of 1821 Charles Throsby continued his explorations, going in search of Murrumbidgee. He followed the Molonglo and Queanbeyan Rivers, starting from Lake George to arrive in the present day Australian Capital Territory in 1821.

The suburb of Throsby was named after him in 1992.